Visualizing the FIFA World Cup final

Over the World Cup’s 92-year history, 13 nations accept fabricated it to the finals, with eight actuality crowned champions.

On Sunday, December 18, on the angle of Lusail Stadium in Qatar, Argentina will booty on 2018 arresting champions France for football’s best coveted trophy.


The FIFA World Cup, now in its 22nd edition, has been captivated every four years aback 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 because of World War II.


Over its 92-year history, 79 nations accept battled it out for the top prize. Of these, 13 countries accept fabricated it to the finals, with eight actuality crowned champions.




Only European and South American teams accept anytime accomplished the finals. With eight appearances, Germany accept the accomplished cardinal of World Cup finals beneath their belt, followed by Brazil (seven times) and Italy (six times).


Argentina accept accomplished the finals on bristles abstracted occasions – acceptable two of them – while France accept appeared in three finals, which they accept additionally won twice.



The highest-scoring World Cup finals


Historically, World Cup finals accept had no curtailment of goals. Aback 1930, a absolute of 74 goals accept been denticulate with an boilerplate of 3.5 goals per match. The alone aimless final bout was in 1994 amid Brazil and Italy, which the South Americans won afterward a affecting amends shootout.


The best cardinal of goals denticulate in a World Cup final was aback in 1958 back Brazil defeated Sweden, the hosts, by bristles goals to two.


Only two nations accept anytime managed to win after championship titles: the Italians in 1934 and 1938, and the Brazilians in 1958 and 1962. Arresting champions France will be acquisitive to accompany them.



How abundant money do the World Cup winners get?


For 2022, the International Federation of Football Associations (FIFA) has allocated $42m to the acceptable aggregation – an access of $4m compared with four years ago in Russia.


In accession to the award-winning money, the acceptable aggregation will accept a gold-plated brownish replica of the 18-carat gold bays – barometer 38cm (15 inches) in acme and belief 6kg (13lbs) – advised by Italian artisan Silvio Gazzaniga.




How abundant money will anniversary aggregation receive?


According to FIFA, the absolute award-winning money for the 32 accommodating nations at the 2022 World Cup will be $440m.


The breakdown is as follows:

          Champions: $42m

          Runners-up: $30m

          Third place: $27m

          Fourth place: $25m

          5th-8th place: $68m ($17m per team)

          9th-16th place: $104m ($13m per team)

          17th-32nd place: $144m ($9m per team)


In addition, anniversary aggregation would accept accustomed $1.5m afore the antagonism to awning alertness costs.




Who are best acceptable to win the World Cup?


Kashef, Al Jazeera’s bogus intelligence (AI) robot, has analysed added than 200 metrics, including the cardinal of wins, goals denticulate and FIFA rankings, from matches played over the accomplished aeon to see who are best acceptable to win the World Cup final.


Predicting bout after-effects is no accessible task. External factors such as aggregation assurance or amateur fettle accomplish a big aberration in how the bold goes.


With 62 matches completed, Kashef has a 68 percent accurateness level. Sizing up all the odds, it could not be any afterpiece with alone 1 percent amid Argentina and France from anniversary acceptable their third title.


However, alone one aggregation can appear victorious. Kashef predicts that France, captained by Hugo Lloris, will bend out Argentina on Sunday to win the 2022 World Cup.